What I ate and cooked this weekend

Saturday.  Bearface and I were looking for Potter’s Pasties and wound up at Glockenspiel in St Paul.  We ate:

  • Fried fish sandwich with spatzle and gravy
  • Spargletoast – asparagus, mushrooms and cheese baked on toast
  • Potato pancakes with sour cream and applesauce
  • Black Forest Strudel

Deciding what to order with Bearface can sometimes be a challenge because he often does not express much direction in figuring out what to eat but when I read the description of Spargletoast off of the menu, Bearface said, “That!  You had me at asparagus.”  It was simple, rich, and delicious.  I loved the thick toast and also being a fan of asparagus, mushrooms and cheese, its was hard to go wrong.  I have been craving fried fish for what’s going on a few weeks now and it is almost to the point that I am going to break down at get a Filet-O-Fish sammich.  Since my efforts to get the donut committee (or anyone) to a fish fry Friday at the Red Stag Supperclub, I was excited about the fish sandwich.  It did a good job of reminding me why I get these massive fried fish cravings and made me want more.  The disappointment was the Black Forest Strudel: I was just warm chocolate cake with cherries inside of a thin, soggy, chewy strudel ring.  The cake was adequately tasty and the real whipped cream on top was perfect but the strudel did nothing to add to the dessert. 

SundayKey’s Cafe at the Foshay Towel in Minneapolis.  We ate:

  • Turkey dinner with mashed potatoes, gravy, stuffing, and canned green beans
  • Huevos Rancheros
  • Grits
  • Buttermilk Pancake

Key's Cafe 7.24.11

  • Bloody Mary
  • Blueberry, Apple, and Peach Pie
  • Almond Sliver Cake

Key's Cafe 7.24.11

Visit effingGood for a full recount of our meal. 

Sunday.  I cooked:

  • Eggplant and mushroom massaman curry
  • Fruit salad

Fruit Salad 7.24.11

  • Mixed berry pie

Mixed Berry Pie 7.24.11

Leave a Reply

