Pao de Coco

After posting about pao de queijo, I wanted to play with the recipe and see what else I could make.  Tapioca went well with cheese in pao de queijo and with black sesame and soy sauce in the Korean mochi bread.  I wasn’t ready to commit to chocolate chips like Dr. Sam suggested, but I did want to turn away from savory and try something sweet so I settled on coconut.  It was actually really easy to modify the Kitchn‘s recipe for pao de queijo for coconut instead of cheese.  I swapped coconut milk for the whole milk, added a teaspoon of sugar in addition to the teaspoon of salt and swapped 1 cup of sweetened flaked coconut for the cheese.  Otherwise I followed the same recipe.  The verdict was unanimous: delicious!  Even Professor Peaches tried and loved them.

The only things I would change next time is not to double up on the sweetness: either 1 tsp of sugar and unsweetened coconut or no added sugar and sweetened coconut, but that being said, the boys of the house didn’t mind the sweetness level at all.

Ingredients

1 cup coconut milk or cream (I haven’t tried but I wouldn’t recommend using a coconut milk beverage product)
1/2 cup oil
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups tapioca flour
2 eggs
1 cup sweetened flaked coconut

Instructions

Follow instructions from the Kitchn for pao de queijo.  And then I brush the pao with a little bit of water just before baking for added crustiness.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

